David A. Jones

Composer, Performer

David A. Jones logo



Photo credit: Alexis Gillmore

David A. Jones (b. 1990) is a Houston-based composer and horn player originally from Olympia, Washington. His artistic style is centered on the elaboration and vitalization of ideas and gestures both musical and extra-musical. Many of his works explore the dynamic relationship between composer and performers through the use of aleatoric and improvisatory techniques. He names composers such as Stravinsky, Lutoslawski, Hindemith, Feldman, Morton Lauridsen, Stephen Hartke, and Claude Debussy as some of the primary influences on his music. Jones's oeuvre includes works for orchestra, wind band, string quartet, brass quintet, percussion ensemble, choir, and a variety of other ensembles.

In 2016, Jones was invited to participate in the American Composers' Orchestra's Earshot program with the Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra. He received the Barlow Student Composition Award at BYU in 2015, has won multiple prizes in the Vera Hinckley Mayhew Creative Arts Contests, and was a winner of Vox Novus's "Fifteen Minutes of Fame" call for scores in 2014 with the Nautilus Brass Quintet. His works have been premiered and performed by numerous ensembles, including the BYU Chamber Orchestra, Ensemble Hexnut, the BYU-Idaho Symphony Band, and the RixStix Percussion Ensemble.

Jones is currently studying for the degree of Doctor of Musical Arts in Composition at Rice University in Houston, Texas, where he lives with his wife and 2-year-old son. David holds degrees from Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah, and Brigham Young University-Idaho in Rexburg, Idaho. His primary instructors include Richard Lavenda, Steve Ricks, Sam L. Richards, Christian Asplund, and Darrell Brown.